Updates in Malaysia.


  • On 02 March 2021, the government has decided to lift the Movement Control Order (MCO) for in Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Johor and Penang. The Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO), the mid-tier of control order, will be imposed.
  • As of 22 March 2021,
    • States/Areas under CMCO: Selangor, Johor, Kelantan, Pulau Pinang, Sarawak, Kuala Lumpur
    • States/Areas under Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO): Kedah*, Negeri Sembilan*, Sabah*, Perak, Pahang, Terengganu, Perlis, Melaka, Putrajaya, Labuan
    • *A few areas in the respective state are subject to MCO.
  •  In general,
    • Inter-district travel will be allowed in all states in Malaysia, except for Sabah.
    • The 10km travel limit has been removed.
    • The number of passengers are permitted will depend on the capacity of the vehicle.
    • The inter-state travel remains prohibited.
  •  The respective updated Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) can be accessed here.
  • In addition, starting from 11 March, individual who violates the SOP stipulated can be fined up to RM10,000.