Government strengthens provincial COVID-19 control measures.


  • The Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) declared 28 provinces as “highly controlled areas” where these provinces are identified with high number of local cases in more than one area. 11 provinces are categorised as “controlled areas” whereas 38 provinces are considered as areas under high surveillance.
  • Provinces classified as “highly controlled areas” are imposed with restrictions, such as a few in the following:
    • Closure of schools, except for educational areas used for online learning activities, emergency shelters or government activities
    • Ban of gatherings
    • Closure of high-risk venues, such as entertainment venues
    • Limitation of business operating hours
    • Malls, department store, marts, supermarkets, convention centres can operate according to usual business hours but strict health protocols must be followed
  •  Interprovincial travel is discouraged and necessary travelling must be accompanied with strict screening measures.
  • On 8 January 2021, the announcement was made to extend the Emergency Decree until 28 February 2021 to continue to curb the rise in local transmissions.