The government tightened travel restrictions.


  • On 12 August, the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) announced updated list of countries/regions which subject to shortened quarantine in Taiwan. In view of the increased cases reported in Vietnam, the CECC has moved Vietnam to the category of medium-risk countries/regions. The updated list is as follow
    • Low-risk countries/regions: New Zealand, Macao, Palau, Fiji, Brunei, Thailand, Mongolia, Bhutan, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar.
    • Medium-risk countries/regions: South Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Vietnam.
  • Meanwhile, starting from 12 August, all travellers arriving in Taiwan from Philippines must undergo COVID-19 testing at airports and undergo 14-day period of quarantine at group quarantine facility.