On 2 July, the Ministry of Trade and Industry announced China as the latest signatory to the Joint Ministerial Statement in ensuring supply chain connectivity amid the COVID-19 pandemic.


  • The Joint Ministerial Statement was first initiated between Singapore and New Zealand on 20 March. Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile and Myanmar joined on 25 March whereas Lao PDR, Nauru, United Arab Emirates and Uruguay later on.
  • China marked the 12th nation to be part of the multilateral commitment to uphold supply chain connectivity.
  • As part of the commitment, signatories commit to avoid export controls or tariffs and non-tariff barriers during the pandemic and to remove existing trade restrictions on essential goods, especially medical supplies.