Opening of borders to facilitate safe travel.


  • As of 19 August 2021, the Multi-Ministry Taskforce announced that border restrictions would be progressively reviewed to facilitate more travel when conditions allow. Countries or regions will be classified according to one of the four categories, each with differentiated border measures.
    • Category 1: Travellers from countries in this category can enter Singapore without serving Stay-Home Notice (SHN) and undergo an On-Arrival COVID-19 Polymerase Chain Reaction test. If the test is negative, they will be allowed to go about their activities.
      • Mainland China (excluding Jiangsu province), Macao, New Zealand
      • Taiwan and Hong Kong (21 August onwards)
    •  Category 2: Travellers will be required to undergo a 7-day SHN
      • Mainland China (Jiangsu province)
      • Australia, Brunei, Canada and Germany (21 August onwards)
    •  Category 3: Vaccinated travelers may apply to opt out dedicated SHN facilities
      • Austria, Italy, Norway, Republic of Korea, Switzerland
      • Belgium, Denmark, Japan and Luxembourg (21 August onwards)
    •  Category 4: Travellers from all other countries and regions (except Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, where entry is currently not allowed) will be required to undergo a 14-day SHN at dedicated facilitie
  •  From 8 September, Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) will be introduced for Singaporeans and permeant residents to travel without having to be quarantined, provided that COVID-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test has been done.
    •  The VTL arrangement will begin with Brunei and Germany