Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) has been imposed in a few areas of Negeri Sembilan and Johor.


  • On 09 July 2021, it was reported that the government decided to place a few areas of Negeri Sembilan and Johor under Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO). Under EMCO,
    • Only essential manufacturing sectors are permitted to operate, including manufacturers who manufacture rice, white bread (loaf), sugar, cooking oil, wheat flour, mineral water, infant formula, medicine, baby and adult diapers, hand sanitisers and face mask as well as manufacturers supplying packaging and labelling for these products.
    • Only 60% of total registered workforce will be allowed and the employees shall bring the letter issued by Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) CMS while travelling to work. Aside from MITI letter, an identification tag/badge or authorisation letter from employer shall be brought too.
    • The EMCO will be effective until 22 July 2021.
  • On 14 July 2021, the revised SOP was released for all EMCO areas in Selangor, Seremban and Senai Industrial Area of Johor.
    • Updated list of sectors permitted to operate, including
      • Electrical & Electronics sectors and its supply chain; aerospace sector; machinery and equipment sector for the production of healthcare and food products; key food and beverage manufacturing; healthcare and personal care; packaging, labelling and transportation for the above sectors.
      • Key food and beverage manufacturing will include manufacturers for sugar, cooking oil, flour, rice, bread, dairy products, grains, milk powder, biscuits, sardine, instant noodle, condensed and evaporated milk, salt, bihun & noodles, soy sauce, sauces, spices, baby food, frozen food (chicken, beef, mutton, seafood, vegetables), pet food, mineral water, chocolate malt, coffee / tea and fresh milk.
    •  The requirement of RTK antigen test for employee has been removed, however, the health status of employees shall be monitored.
  • For the time being,
    • Five states, including Johor, Kedah, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan and Selangor, as well as the three federal territories remain under phase 1 of National Recovery Plan (NRP).
    • Seven states, including Kelantan, Pahang, Penang, Perak, Sabah (effective from 10 July), Sarawak (effective from 14 July), Terengganu, are currently placed under phase 2 of NRP.
  • On 21 July 2021, the Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers (FMM) appeals to the government to allow reopen of manufacturing industries in all non-essential sectors with 50% workforce capacity regardless of phase 1 or phase 2 of NPR to prevent companies from shutting down permanently. The appeal has been supported by the responses received from the survey conducted by FMM on the impact of the lockdown on business operations.