Japan expanded and extended state of emergency to other prefectures.


  • On 17 August 2021, the central government announced the expansion and extension of state of emergency.
  • The state of emergency will be extended in 7 more prefectures, including Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma, Shizuoka, Kyoto, Hyogo and Fukuoka. The state of emergency has been scheduled from 18 August 2021 to 12 September 2021.
  • Meanwhile, the ongoing state of emergency for Tokyo, Kanagawa, Chiba, Saitama, Osaka and Okinawa will be extended to 12 September 2021. It was previously scheduled to be end on 31 August 2021.
  • In addition, 10 additional prefectures will be put under COVID-19 quasi-emergency state from 18 August 2021 to 12 September 2021, where governors will be allowed to issue restrictions similar to those introduced under a full state of emergency. The 10 newly added prefectures are Miyagi, Toyama, Yamanashi, Gifu, Mie, Okayama, Hiroshima, Kagawa, Ehime and Kagoshima.
  • The state of emergency will be in place for 13 of Japan’s 47 prefectures, while the quasi-emergency status will cover 16 others.