On 23 April, the Joint Ministerial Statement was issued by Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Laos, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, SIngapore and Uruguay to affirm the commitment to ensure supply chain connectivity amidst the COVID-19 situation.


  • In March, ministers from Singapore, Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Myanmar and New Zealand committed to uphold trade connectivity.
  • The Joint Ministerial Statement in April saw three countries who came on board to uphold cross-border supply chain connectivity and commit to the following:

    – Work closely to identify and address trade disruptions with ramifications on the flow of necessities

    – Refrain from the imposition of export controls or tariffs and non-tariff barriers on essential goods, especially medical supplies

    – Ensure continuation of unimpeded trade and ensure that critical infrastructure such as air and seaports remain open


  • With the slowing down of economy and supply chains, the commitment from countries in keeping border opened is essential to ensure the smooth flow of goods as much as possible.