On 13 April, President Joko Widodo declared COVID-19 pandemic as a non-natural national disaster through issuance of Presidential Decree No. 12/2020.


  • The Decree states that COVID-19 has claimed many lives and inflicted huge material losses. Based on the Decree, the COVID-19 Task Force, with the support from ministries/agencies and regional administrations, would oversee the disaster management. The President also assigned governors, regents, and mayors to lead the COVID-19 Task Force in their respective areas and demanded them to stick to the guidelines provided by the central government.
  • To minimise the spread of COVID-19, the Government has implemented Large-Scale Social Restrictions (PSBB). The Ministry of Health has given green lights to ten regions to implement PSBB protocol, namely Jakarta, Bogor Regency, Bogor City, Depok City, Bekasi Regency, Bekasi City, Tangerang Regency, Tangerang City, Tangerang Selatan City, and Pekanbaru City. However, the Ministry rejected the PSBB proposals from three regions, namely Sorong City (West Papua), Palangka Raya (Central Kalimantan), and Rote Ndao District (East Nusa Tenggara) as these regions could not implement the PSBB protocol just yet due to the lack of supporting epidemiological study, assessment of local readiness, socio-economic aspect, and other requirements.


  • The Minister of Industry, Agus Gumiwang Kartasasmita issued Guidelines for industry as businesses carry out their activities during the public health emergency. The Guidelines on the factory operations amidst the public health emergency are stated in the Minister of Industry Circular Letter No. 4/2020. The food and beverage industry is among the strategic line of industries that are still allowed to operate. Industrial companies and/or industrial park companies and the factory workers shall carry measurements to prevent the spread of COVID-19.