Local state governments continue efforts in containing COVID-19.


  • On 10 July, in view of the recent surge in cases in Victoria, the Tasmanian Government announced that the borders will not reopen on 24 July, as scheduled. The Tasmanian Government will continue to monitor and analyse the situation.
  • On 14 July, following a spike of COVID-19 cases, the New South Wales Government announced new measures to pubs, including but not limited to a cap of 300 people in a venue, number of people per booking/table will be reduced to 10 people and compulsory COVID-Safe registration. These new measures will come into force on 17 July 2020.
  • In Victoria, Stay at Home restrictions continue at metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire. The restrictions have been scheduled from 8 July until 19 August 2020. People are only allowed to leave home for purchasing essential supplies, getting medical care and caregiving, exercising and recreation and study/work (provided these activities could not be conducted at home).